Avatar of admin

by

FWC Complaints Response

April 22, 2012 in Admin

Unanswered Questions to FWC (in blue)

Wednesday, July 11, 2012

Good morning Linda,

I have not received any updates from staff, I will check with them this morning.

Thanks,

Sabrina

Sent: Tuesday, July 10, 2012 6:48 PM
To: Menendez, Sabrina
Subject: RE: BCR Complaint Updates Please

Hi Sabrina,

Have you received any updates?  Please advise.

Thank you,

Linda

————————————————————————————————————

Friday, June 15, 2012

Good morning,

Yes I did receive your email reply.  I am waiting on staff to provide me with the information.

Thanks,

Sabrina Menendez
Sent: Friday, June 15, 2012 9:33 AM
To: Menendez, Sabrina
Subject: RE: BCR Complaint Updates Please

Sabrina,  Did you receive the following email reply on June 7th?

Thank you, Linda

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Thursday, June 7, 2012

Hello Sabrina,

Thank you for the updates, however I  have a few more questions.

Regards, Linda

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

From: Menendez, Sabrina <sabrina.menendez@MyFWC.com>
Date: Thursday, June 7, 2012, 2:12 PM

Good afternoon Linda,

Please see updates in “green.”

Thanks…Sabrina Menendez

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Sent: Friday, June 01, 2012 3:00 PM
To: Menendez, Sabrina

Attention: Sabrina Manendez

Can you please provide updates regarding the two following complaints on Big Cat Rescue Tampa?

FWC Jason Marlow was previously in charge of the BCR complaints but has not responded to many emails sent to him requesting updates over the last few months.
Emails have also been sent to the FWC website attn:(Nick Wiley) as well as emails to the Inspector Generals office of FWC, all with no responses.   I am not understanding why the emails and questions are being ignored.

1.  Complaint filed on 2/26/2012, wildlife undergoing rehab or medical treatment shall not be exhibited, but were displayed on BCR Hospital Live Stream online.  A case number was not given and no updates have been provided.  Please advise.

The case number is as follows and has been administratively closed per the Region: FWSW12OFF2758.  The findings of the complaint was that the bobcats from North Carolina were brought in under the ESB (Exhibition and Sale License) and were never under the Rehab Permit, therefore the Rehab related rules did not apply and the animals could be exhibited.  This is to include their care.  I have spoken to BCR and most of the current live feeds are suppose to be password protected in order to allow only BCR staff viewing capabilities to monitor the status and progress of the cats under any medical care.

May I please see a copy of the ESB License?
I am not aware of bobcats in rehabilitation at this time, can you please advise 

1. According to Carole Baskin’s post (below) on the Facebook BCR page, the live stream was shut down by FWC, which does not agree with what you stated above.  Please advise.

Carole Baskin

March 28
Just so all of the SkipAHolics know that Rufus is sleeping peacefully right now. I just took this pic. He has spent most of the day sleeping and I know that you guys are anxious to keep an eye on him for us, so we are working on that. The bad guys filed another false complaint about Rufus, under an alias, of course, so we have to get permission from the FWC or legal counsel to allow access via the web cam.

2. Can you please forward a copy of the ESB Sales License for Rufus the bobcat and a copy of the permits to display physical impairments on the two blind bobcats Rufus who is deceased and Tommie?

3. Please clarify this FWC Regulation?  Wildlife undergoing rehabilitation or medical treatment shall not be exhibited. Permittees may keep wildlife with permanent physical impairments for educational display under permit in accordance with Section 379.3761, F.S., and Chapter 68A-6, F.A.C.

The blind bobcat Rufus from out of state you speak of was undergoing medical treatment.  The regulation reads:  wildlife undergoing rehab OR medical treatment.

http://bigcatrescue.org/2012/advocat-2012-03

4.  According to the BCR website a second blind bobcat named Tommie was found in Florida and also on the Live Stream website; can you please advise why  this bobcat was excluded from the complaint investigation?

“Just a few weeks after the arrival of Rufus, Rescuers received a call from a mine located an hour north of the sanctuary”. 

5.  Regarding your statement:   “I have spoken to BCR and most of the current live feeds are suppose to be password protected in order to allow only BCR staff viewing capabilities to monitor the status and progress of the cats under any medical care”.

To my knowledge there are no bobcats currently in rehab at BCR, can you please advise as to what animals are currently being fed Live animals?

2.  Previous complaint Case no. FWSW11OFF9131, filed 12/2/2011, videos of wildlife being fed live animals in rehab are still online Today and available over the internet – after Jamie Veronica Murdock was issued a warning on March 17, 2011 for a violation of FAC 68A-9.006.   Please advise.

Lt. Delacure has advised that the videos of the three particular bobcats that were under Rehab status and are in question have been removed from any website that is under the control of BCR.  Videos that make it onto the internet sometimes are not retrievable by the parties and therefore remains accessible by searches on the web.  We are not aware of current violations regarding the 3 bobcats that the warning was issued for at this time

Can you please advise where Lt. Delacure obtained the information stated?  The following websites / blogs sent to FWC are Factually and Clearly Under Control, updated and written by BCR and on this date of 6/7/2012 the videos remain Live on the internet.  These same links were provided in the Original Complaint FWSW11OFF9131 however FWC has not addressed these concerns, therefore I am not understanding the response that FWC is not aware of these continued violations, please advise.

BCR’S Meta Cafe Account:  Bobcats torturing and killing 2 Live Domestic Rabbits  http://www.metacafe.com/watch/5911162/bobcat_kittens_2011_rehab_update/

BCR’S YouTube Account: Bobcats torturing and killing Live Rats
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pb2dwl7z2PA

BCR’S Vimeo Account:  Warning this video shows scenes of live animal predation  http://vimeo.com/14805317

BCR’S DailyMotion Account: Warning this video shows scenes of live animal predation  http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xeqtoe_bobcat-kittens-the-outside-world_animals

Carole Baskin also has videos under another Youtube Account that is called the: Secret law of Attraction.

Here you will see live rats being tortured and killed by the bobcats in rehab. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i-Fo2BYd1NI&feature=plcp

BCR Myspace account:
Bobcat Predation Photos: http://www.myspace.com/1bigcatrescue/photos/albums/album/2782648

BCR Photos of Bobcats during rehab: http://www.myspace.com/1bigcatrescue/photos/albums/album/2759997

Rehabbing bobcats receiving Medical Treatment:  Big Cat Hosptial “Live Stream” http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/11824729

BigCatHospital on Ustream
You can check the progress of SKIP the bobcat LIVE using our hospital cam:
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/bigcathospital

BigCatHospital @ USTREAM: This is the recovery cage inside theWestBoenschCatHospitalat Big Cat Rescue. This site has been set up to enable our AdvoCa…

Watch Skip the bobcat eat: http://bigcatnews.blogspot.com/2011/01/watch-skip-bobcat-eat.html

Watch Skip the bobcat eat within the next 15 minutes here.
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/bigcathospital

68A-9.006 Wildlife Rehabilitation Permit.

3. Wildlife undergoing rehabilitation or medical treatment shall not be exhibited. Permittees may keep wildlife with permanent physical impairments for educational display under permit in accordance with Section 379.3761, F.S., and Chapter 68A-6, F.A.C.

Captain Jason Marlow was in charge of the BCR complaints and stopped responding to questions regarding these complaints. I would appreciate a response from FWC regarding these questions below.

3/4/2012

Captain Marlow,

Can you please advise on the following responses you are sending out to the public that are filing complaints on BCR?
“Relative to the complaint of rabbits (prey)being feed to cats (predators) in rehab status was deemed an acceptable and necessary process for rehabbing wild predators in order to create the necessary instincts.

It is also supported by many rehab studies, guides and rehab organizations. I have attached the investigations response into last year’s allegations to assist you in any questions that you may have”.

Last year’s investigation did not reference any rehab studies, guides or rehab organizations.

a.  Can you please send me a link or document to the rehab studies you are referencing that promote the feeding of specifically live domestic rabbits to wildlife predators in rehab?

b.  Can you please send me a link or name of the rehab organizations you are referencing along with the guidelines that specifically promote the feeding live domestic rabbits to wild predators in rehab?

Attaching Factual & Professional References below:

1.  The Executive Director of the National Bobcat Rescue and Research Foundation does not promote live feeding to bobcats in rehab:

“We do not use live prey here.  Their natural instincts take care of that.  We do, however, place small bowls of dog food and mouse food so that the wild rodents will enter the cages on their own and have a natural fighting chance. We ONLY work with Bobcats and other native species”.

2.  The Clinical Director of the Clinic for the Rehabilitation of Wildlife, Inc. inFlorida does not promote live feeding to bobcats in rehab:

” We don’t use any live prey for feeding bobcats. I feel very strongly that the vast majority of our patients are very instinctual, and don’t need the live prey stimulus to tap into their wildness or train them to be hunters”.   I don’t feel that the white mouse or domestic rabbit as prey is a true test of hunting ability, as those aren’t the same prey that these predators will find out in the wild – and the act is far from fair to the mouse or rabbit.  I feel the same way about these as the bobcats…I feel that they have the instincts to be hunters and don’t need us to teach them”.

3.  According to Sandy Woltman, President of National Wildlife Rehabilitator’s Association:                                                                                                                      “NWRA neither condones nor condemns the feeding of live domestic rabbits to bobcats undergoing rehabilitation for release into the wild”.

 

FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestTumblrStumbleUponRedditCare2 NewsBlogger PostDeliciousDiggPrintEmail

Comments are closed.